books like the witcher blog post image

Although The Witcher is one of Netflix’s most-watched shows, it actually started over 30 years ago as a short story, which Polish author Andrzej Sapkowski entered into a magazine’s short story competition—and placed third.

Sapkowski turned the concept of his short story into a popular Polish book series, although the books weren’t translated into English until 2007, the same year that the first Witcher video game was released. In 2019, Netflix released season 1 of its on-screen adaptation.

The books (and show) follow Geralt, the “witcher” (a hunter of beasts) in a morally gray world where people often turn out to be the real monsters.

Like many Netfix phenomena, fans quickly devoured the series and eagerly await the release of season 3. And while The Witcher book series is complete, there are many equally satisfying books you can try for a dark fantasy adventure.

Books Like The Witcher

Below are 10 books like The Witcher that combine elements of dark fantasy, monstrous creatures, enchanting folklore, and epic battles.

1. Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb

As the bastard son of Prince Chivalry, Fitz has always been an outcast in the royal family, except to the devious King Shrewd, who’s trained Fitz in the arts of the assassin.

Gifted with “the Wit”—a dangerous magic that allows him to communicate with animals, among other things—Fitz is more comfortable in the forest than the castle, but he’ll soon have to trade his magic for blades.

2. Fledgling by Octavia Butler

An apparently young, amnesiac girl with unhuman needs and abilities discovers that she is actually a 53-year-old vampire.

As she’s forced to uncover what she can about her stolen former life, Shori must also find out who still wants to destroy her and those she cares about.

3. Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik

In medieval Lithvas—a fantasy version of Lithuania—the Staryk fey, who seem to be made of more ice than flesh, are encroaching on human lands.

When Miryem, an unsuccessful moneylender’s daughter, boasts that she can turn silver into gold, she attracts the attention of the king of the Staryk, and Miryem’s fate will forever be altered.

4. The Red Knight by Miles Cameron

A young mercenary known as the Red Knight earns money by slaying and protecting others from all types of monsters. It’s a dangerous job, but it pays well enough.

When he hires out his company to protect an abby, a job that seemed routine soon turns out to have much higher stakes.

5. The Rage of Dragons by Evan Winters

One of TIME Magazine‘s Top 100 Fantasy Books of All Time, The Rage of Dragons is an epic fantasy about a world caught in an eternal war, one the Omehi people have been fighting for nearly 200 years.

After Tau loses those closest to him in the brutal war, he sets out to become the greatest swordsman to ever live, and he’ll stop at nothing to kill those who betrayed him.

6. City of Lies by Sam Hawke

Young Jovan is a master poisoner trained to protect the Chancellor’s family at all threats, and to eliminate any threats.

But when the Chanellor himself is poisoned and killed, an army attacks and throws the city into chaos. It’s up to Jovan and his sister Karina to keep the Chancellor’s Heir safe and bring back order to the city.

7. Black Leopard, Red Wolf by Marlon James

Partially based on African history and mythology, Black Leopard, Red Wolf follows Tracker, who’s widely known for his skills as a hunter.

To find a missing boy, he must team up with a lover from his past—a shape-shifting leopard—and navigate a treacherous world of witches, corrupt kings, monsters, and deceit.

8. The Monster of Elendhaven by Jennifer Giesbrecht

Elendhaven is already plague-ridden and mostly abandoned, but it’s also haunted by a monster—a monster that resembles a man, but not quite.

The monster’s owner is a man driven by his wish for revenge on everyone who wronged the city, and neither he nor his monster will rest until they get what they want.

9. Queen of the Conquered by Kacen Callender

This dark fantasy is based on the colonization of the Caribbean. On the book’s imagined islands, only the white nobility can practice magic, and any slaves who are caught breaking the rules are sentenced to death.

Sigourney Rose is the daughter of a white noble father and a black enslaved mother, offering her the unique position of being the only Black woman allowed to practice magic, which causes other nobles to despise her.

As Sigourney plans revenge on the nobles she believes murdered her family, she discovers that someone else is beating her to it.

10. The Blade Itself by Joe Abercrombie

Logan Ninefingers is an infamous barbarian whose enemies want him dead. But when he crosses paths with the enigmatic wizard Bayaz, he finds himself wrapped in a conspiracy much larger than himself.

There are old scores to settle, and the line between good and evil becomes increasingly blurred.

Are The Witcher Books Done?

The Witcher book series did in fact conclude with the last installment, The Lady of the Lake.

However, viewers can still enjoy the show, as Netflix revealed that season 3 is currently in development. You can watch seasons 1 and 2 on Netflix now.

Do you enjoy watching The Witcher or reading books like it? Share your thoughts in the comments below!

If you enjoyed this post, then you might also like: