books like dune blog post image

Published in 1965, Frank Herbert’s Dune is an epic sci-fi masterpiece that follows Paul Atreides, a gifted young man who must travel to the most dangerous planet in the universe to ensure the future of his family and his people.

Dune has been brought back into the spotlight thanks to the recent 2021 film adaptation starring big names like Timothée Chalamet, Zendaya, and Jason Momoa, giving new generations a chance to appreciate Herbert’s work.

Whether you’re a fan of the original book or enjoyed watching the story unfold on the big screen, we think you’ll love the 8 books like Dune that we’ve rounded up for you in this list.

Books Like Dune

Below are 8 books like Dune that will take you on an epic sci-fi ride.

1. Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie

This space opera follows Breq, the last AI of her kind on a remote, icy planet. She was once the Justice of Toren, a colossal starship with an artificial intelligence that linked thousands of soldiers in the service of the Radch empire.

But an act of treachery has left her alone and trapped in a fragile human body with lots of questions and a burning desire for revenge.

2. Dawn by Octavia Butler

Lilith wakes after 250 years of sleep aboard the spaceship of the Oankali, a seemingly friendly alien race that saved the survivors of a nuclear war from a dying Earth and then put them in a deep sleep.

After studying all they could about the Earth and humans, the Oankali healed the planet, cured cancer, and increased human strength. Now, they want Lilith to be mother to the first Oankali-human child.

3. The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin

In a world where magic users are enslaved, a woman must hide her powers while trying to find her kidnapped daughter.

The Fifth Season combines a dramatic family narrative with a catastrophic environment torn by power, oppression, and revolution.

4. Hyperion by Dan Simmons

In the 29th century on the planet called Hyperion, structures are guided backwards in time by a creature known as the Shrike.

Six different characters must make their way to Hyperion, and their journeys are interwoven in this epic tale of a universe that is both foreign but also reminiscent of ours.

5. Leviathan Wakes by James A. Corey

The hunt for a missing girl leads a captain, his crew, and a detective to a horrifying conspiracy that shakes the entire solar system, which has been colonized by humans.

The girl may be the key to preventing an all-out war between the Earth government, the Outer Planet revolutionaries, and secretive corporations.

6. The Long Tomorrow by Leigh Brackett

Written in 1955, The Long Tomorrow tells the story of two boys in a post-apocalyptic world where science and civilization are feared.

The boys long for something more than their agrarian life, so they set out on an epic adventure across war-torn lands.

7. The Stars Are Legion by Kameron Hurley

In a mass of decaying world-ships known as The Legion, a girl named Zan wakes with no memory and finds herself a prisoner of people who claim to be her family and tell her she is their only hope for boarding the Mokshi, a world-ship with the power to leave the Legion. 

But her new family aren’t the only ones who want to gain control of the Mokshi. Zan will soon find herself forced to choose sides in a genocidal campaign that will take her to the depths of the world.

8. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

Published in 1932, Brave New World portrays an unequal, technologically-advanced world where humans are genetically bred to passively uphold an authoritarian ruling order.

Although written in the shadow of rising 1930s fascism, Brave New World also speaks to our current world dominated by mass-entertainment, technology, and hidden influences.

Is Dune a Tough Read?

Dune is not considered a particularly tough read, but it is in this first novel that the author does most of his worldbuilding, which means there are quite a few details and characters to keep track of.

Once you’ve made it through Dune, the subsequent books in the series are easier reads, since you’re already familiar with the setting and characters.

Do you have any favorite sci-fi books like Dune? Share them in the comments below!

 

If you enjoyed this post, then you might also like: